Call a former DUI Judge
with over 40 years experience
“Mine was a DUI matter and I learned that there are basically three types of DUI attorneys in general: 1) Bait and Switch; 2) Dishonest and greedy and; 3) Honest and ethical. Mark is the latter. The clients who give him a bad rating probably think that they can just pay their…” JJ
For nearly ten years, Arizona has recognized two levels of drunk driving — standard DUI, in which a blood alcohol content (BAC) level of .08 percent will support a conviction, and extreme DUI, for those with a BAC of .15 or above. Today, Arizona also has “Super Extreme” DUI. This comes with a more severe penalty: 45 days in jail, if the BAC is more than .20!
An extreme DUI conviction can include a mandatory minimum sentence of 30 days in jail, heavy fines, impoundment of your vehicle for 30 days, installation of an ignition interlock device with GPS monitoring on your car, and classes. That’s for a first offense. Any repeat extreme DUI conviction within a seven-year period carries even tougher minimum penalties. Fortunately, none of our clients who have been charged with Super Extreme DUI, since it became law in September 2007, have been convicted….NONE. In all cities in Maricopa County, house arrest is available. If you qualify, you serve 20 percent of the sentence in jail (with work release), and the balance at home. Very soon the Counties will also have home arrest available.
As of 1 January 2012, there is a way to get all but nine days suspended or taken off of the 30-day jail sentence on extreme, and all but 14 on super extreme convictions. It is not automatic, but we can help you get it accomplished.
If you need help with defense of a charge under these harsh penalties, the extreme DUI lawyers at the Weingart Firm can help you. If you’re facing a first offense extreme DUI charge, our experienced attorneys will concentrate on developing the following aspects of your defense:
Where a repeat offense charge of extreme DUI depends on proof of a prior conviction within the previous seven years, our lawyers will conduct a careful examination of the facts and procedures in the older case to prevent it from counting as a prior offense. The difference can prevent you from serving at least two months in jail and being subject to more than $3,000 in fines. A third offense within seven years is charged as aggravated DUI, which is a felony.
Experts in the field understand perfectly well that a BAC of .15 percent does not mean that a person is extremely drunk. What’s extreme about the Arizona DUI law is the minimum punishment if you’re convicted.
Our extreme DUI defense lawyers can also help you release the impoundment of your car. If someone else is on the title, it can be released to that person. We can also challenge the constitutionality of allowing the same police who impounded the vehicle to decide whether it should be released.
The Weingart Law Firm holds the AV rating* under Martindale-Hubbell’s peer review rating system. Four of our attorneys have long and impressive experience with the defense and trial of DUI cases, and our lawyers recently ran a remarkable streak of 26 victories out of 30 extreme DUI trials, in which the BAC readings varied from .17 to .32 percent. Phoenix defense attorney Mark Weingart is a founding member of the National College of DUI Defense and has tried more than 500 cases in his 30-year career.
If you’ve been charged with first, second, or third offense extreme DUI, get the experienced and resourceful representation you need by contacting the DUI trial attorneys at the Weingart Law Firm in Tempe.