Call a former DUI Judge
with over 40 years experience
“Mine was a DUI matter and I learned that there are basically three types of DUI attorneys in general: 1) Bait and Switch; 2) Dishonest and greedy and; 3) Honest and ethical. Mark is the latter. The clients who give him a bad rating probably think that they can just pay their…” JJ
Contact an experienced Arizona DUI defense attorney at the Weingart Law Firm in Tempe for state of the art advocacy on any drunk driving charge. Our experience and our sophisticated understanding of advanced DUI defense techniques give our clients a distinct advantage when facing mandatory jail time, automatic license suspensions, and heavy fines.
Ideally, we will advise clients between the time they’re pulled over by an officer and the time they decide whether to provide a blood sample or breath sample. In Arizona, you have the right to refuse a breath test until you are given the chance to talk to a lawyer –if you clearly state your intention to do so to the arresting officer.
We can then analyze the facts and make the officer appear at a hearing in front of a judge at MVD. If the suspension is upheld at the meeting, then after 90 days you can have an ignition interlock device installed in your vehicle and drive legally for the balance of the suspension. If the suspension is not upheld (voided), then there is no suspension from this action. However, it does not end there.
If, after being read the implied consent law, you agree to the test, then you will be served with a 90-day suspension which again, takes effect in 15 days. We need to also file a request for a hearing on this suspension, to stop the suspension for 90-120 days to determine if the hearing is needed or not. In the meantime, you drive normally.
It is very helpful if you request to call us before deciding whether or not to take the chemical test. It is not deemed to be a refusal, to request to speak with a lawyer before making that decision. If you refuse, the officer can, and usually will, call a Judge and get a telephonic search warrant, serve it on you, and take your blood even by force. You need to call, if possible, while under arrest.
One more thing, even though you are required to take a blood or breath test after an arrest, you are not required, and should never take, the portable breath test in the field. Regardless of what the officer says, you are not required to take that test and the implied consent law does not apply to that test.
We will take the facts where we find them and defend our clients with all of the resources at our disposal in cases involving the following charges and considerations:
The penalties for drunk driving in Arizona have become so severe that, nowadays, any conviction for DUI in Arizona carries a mandatory ignition interlock device requirement for at least 1 year.
Our clients come from all walks of life in Greater Phoenix and all over Arizona. We represent many licensed professionals, such as pilots, nurses, teachers, and even attorneys, whose professional standing can be damaged or ruined by a DUI conviction. We’ll approach your defense with a full awareness of the risk that a conviction would present for your occupational license, and we will help you deal with your licensing board while defending you on the DUI charges. For further information about the range of our services, contact a Tempe DUI defense lawyer at the Weingart Law Firm.