Call a former DUI Judge
with over 40 years experience
Do not leave your DUI case up to chance, get the DUI attorneys at Weingart Firm on your team today. An experienced and skilled attorney can make all the difference in the world for your DUI case.
Because of our extensive history of helping DUI clients, we have compliled a list of commonly asked questions and the answers. Feel free to contact our law offices today with any additional questions you may have.
1) What is the Blood Alcohol Concentration requirement for Arizona?
Answer: In the State of Arizona, a person is prohibited from driving if they have a concentration of .08 percent or more alcohol in their blood system. A 0.08 percent measurement has been calculated as the standard measurement for a DUI conviction for most states in the United States.
2) What is the penalty if I am caught driving under the influence of alcohol in Arizona?
Answer: A conviction for a drunk driving offense in the State of Arizona could include the following penalties: jail time, a criminal record, suspension of license, impounding of your vehicle, fines and Arizona SR22 insurance requirements. Being convicted of a DUI in Arizona is a Misdemeanor Criminal Conviction.
3) How many drinks does it take to reach the legal limit in Arizona?
Answer: The best answer to this question is to have zero drinks before you drive. Because this is not always realistic, you should note that each individual has unique characteristics that determine their BAC score. Some studies recommend that you not consume more than one drink per hour to avoid intoxication. One drink can usually be considered 1 beer, 1 3oz glass of wine or 1-Shot or 1-oz of hard liquor. Variables like weight, gender and body fat percentage can all impact the amount of alcohol it can take to become impaired. There is no standard amount of alcohol that it takes to become “drunk”. As such, your safest option is to not drive if you have had anything alcoholic to drink.
4) Can you plead guilty to a smaller offense than DUI in Arizona?
Answer: No, plea bargaining for a conviction of “wet reckless” or reckless driving involving alcohol, is barred by statute in Arizona.
5) What is an Arizona Extreme DUI?
Answer: In Arizona, an “Extreme DUI” is a specific category of laws and penalities above and beyond simply driving under the influence. A person is said to be an Extreme DUI if their blood alcohol concentration is 0.15 or higher within two hours of driving or being in actual control of a vehicle. An Extreme DUI is considered a criminal misdemeanor and usually carries higher fines and penalties than a regular DUI conviction.
Note: Arizona DUI / DWI laws extend to Vehicles, Watercraft or Aircraft.
A DUI conviction can change your life forever and should not be taken lightly. Arizona laws are designed to crack down on and severely punish drivers who operate their vehicles under the influence of alcohol. That being said, if you or someone you know has been stopped for a DUI, you need an experienced DUI attorney that will aggressively fight for your rights. Weingart Firm will work for you to get you the best possible outcome for your case. Call our offices today for a consultation!