Call a former DUI Judge
with over 40 years experience
The new fall semester at Arizona State University (ASU) has already seen 381 arrests the weekend before the semester began and 481 the following week in a 3 day period. This rise in alcohol consumption by college students has posed high risks for dangerous behavior including drunk driving and police officials are heavily promoting thier “Safe and Sober” campaign. Out of the 1,812 stops of individuals suspected of alcohol intoxication, 85 people were arrested for DUI’s. ASU has had a number of alcohol related cases that has put the school under a microscope and more harsh measures are being taken into affect in order to prevent these incidents. On March 30, 2014, an ASU student fell to her death off of a 10 story apartment building in Tempe near the college campus. It is believed that the underaged young woman had been heavily drinking at a banned fraternity party prior to the accident. Another incident occurring on May 2014, involved a drunk driver hitting a mother and her son after a graduation ceremony at ASU. The suspect got behind the wheel after leaving a local bar in Tempe and lost control of his vehicle, swerved onto the sidewalk, and struck the mother and son who fell to the ground. Luckily the victims were able to recover from the blow, but the suspect was charged with aggravated DUI a class four felony and two counts of endangerment a class 6 felony. Arizona state laws on traffic and DUI’s are growing increasingly more strict and alcohol consumption in general is also posing more strict policies.
Drunk Driving is never an encouraged act and an individual should practice responsibility and discipline before deciding to consume alcohol. Yet, many drunk driving incidents occur every year and can not only ruin the life of the drunk driver but the lives of others involved in a drunk driving incident. The penalties for a DUI in the state of Arizona are as follows:
The blood alcohol content (BAC) amount to receive a DUI in Arizona is .00% for individuals under 21, .08% for those over 21, and .04% for commercial. In addition, Arizona has a consent law which requires admittance in taking a chemical test if suspected of drunk driving. If refused you will be subject to a fine and automatic license suspension. Your license can be suspended for up to 2 years depending on the number of offenses.
A DUI offense is a very serious issue in Arizona and should not be taken lightly. While drunk driving is not condoned, Arizona’s strict DUI laws can pose some injustices inflicted by aggressive efforts. If you have recently been charged with a DUI offense, it is important to know your options and to understand the full extent of the crime committed. It is your right by law to represent and defend your case no matter the crime and to have the right to an attorney. Choose to be represented by one of our highly reputable lawyers from The Weingart Firm, who will defend your case and interests. Contact our Tempe, AZ office to schedule your complimentary consultation and case review!